Mr BG Makes Equipment Change

905-vs-g10-w2.png
As a number of my Snitter, Twitter and19thHole fans have been reading, I am starting my winter season re-tooling of my golf game. I know some of you are disappointed in me giving up on my Titleist 905R, but like most golfers, you have to go with what feels best.

Right now, after hours of time in the Demo Booth at the PGA Superstores in Plano, TX, Frisco, TX as well as Scottsdale & Chandler, AZ (yes a ruthless plug) it came down to the Ping G10 over my Titleist 905R.

Now for those who know me well this move over to a Ping driver is earth shaking news. I have been a solid Titleist supporter (even though they refuse to sponsor me during my seminars and workshops) for the past 12 years.

I was a dedicated Ping supporter until I went to golf school in 1993 and my instructor pointed out a multitude of flaws to the Ping irons I was swinging and introduced me to the world of Quality Golf Equipment. He let me swing his Titleist prototype forged blades for about a half of bucket of golf balls. Even though the club was not fitted to my swing I was able to feel how the Titleist irons seem to bring the clubhead down the slot and into the ball with little effort. With the Ping I was having all kinds of problems with knowing where the clubhead was during my swing until it was too late.

Anyway, after taking a very analytical view of the G10 verses the 905R it was the 30 yards of distance that moved me to making the switch.

More importantly, the 905R was causing me to change my swing to get the larger clubhead design to come inside so I could get a square clubface on the backside of the ball. This developed a change in my swing to the negative so now I will have to take the winter to get back to golf school and ‘Boot Camp’ my swing back into shape.

Hopefully, by March or April I will have my Titleist swing back and get my handicap back down to a respectable 10 or lower…

There is nothing more frustrating than taking a mighty cut at the ball and make what feels like a good swing and the ball only goes half the distance it should have gone. If this is happening to you, sign up for a golf school right away…the dedicated time to focus on your swing will be more beneficial than getting a thirty minute lesson and then go back to the office and forget everything you changed in your swing.

I’ll keep you in the loop or at least Snitter any changes to my swing.

To lean more about Business Golf go to IBGS.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogroll, Golf

Leave a Reply

