Studio 60: Ratings Are Showing….?

 

I get a little upset when I hear how things are rated by polls or per viewers watched. studiopass_promote.jpg Why?  Will, there is absolutely no way to verify it, one way or the other.

I could say that 4 Billion people are going to read this blog in the next ten minutes…and for all practical purposes you could not prove they did, of did not…but since I am honest I will tell you they did not and probably will not.

And this gets me to Studio 60 and the talk going about that the ratings for S-60 were down and the ratings are showing this or that…the fact of the matter is, I have never run into so many people on the street that have seen this show.  More so than any of the reality shows or the Dance with Star crap or even, get this, Football…yes that is right there are people who have watched Studio 60 and not watched football, America’s most Waste of time. 

To set the record straight, I use to be a football fan, but when TV took Football and made it one big commercial and the Football owners built stadiums that hold a half million people, the experience of watching football on TV or going to watch football in the nosebleed seats just did not appeal to me…

And as far as TV, I don’t really watch a lot anymore.  I use to when I was raised my kids because I needed to stay in touch with what they were watching, but now they have their own kids, I read about and stay in touch with the real world in more productive ways, like meeting people and talking.

So, for me to stop and watch a TV show, well, I have said before….it takes a lot for me to spend my time watching TV with all of the commercials they have on and to do so the program has to be very, very, very interesting.

What makes Studio 60-On the Sunset Strip interesting?  Well the writing.  I take the show for what it is written on, not from who is writing or who is producing or what other shows the actors have played in….those are moronic approaches to analyzing a show by comparing it to another show.  If a show, like a book or social/business networking group, cannot not hold its merit on its own then it is not original and is just part of the stuff it is being compared to and that is not interesting or worth anyone’s time.

When I talk to people about Studio 60, I am finding that this point of view is growing…even the ones who want to compare the show to West Wing and Sports Night.  After they think about it, and as Sorkin would want it to be considered, Studio 60 stands on its own merit and that merit is built on the writing style of the show.

Do you think the actors just come up with the words that come out of their mouth…well in Matthew Perry’s style, yes some of the words could be his own, but that is talent showing and Studio 60 is provided some very good writing…

It is worth your time to watch and see what I am talking about.  I think you will agree that there needs to be more shows on that keep the interest of the viewer…

As far as ratings go, I haven’t been contacted by anyone asking me if I watched the show…have you?  Not sure I can believe those numbers nor should the producers or sponsors…keep Studio-60 on and you will see it grow.

Scot Duke is President of Innovative Business Golf Solutions, LLC and author of How To Play Business Golf.  Mr Duke uses his 30 years of business management experience to help business owners and executives develop their business to be more successful and mentor business people on how powerful of a business tool Business Golf can be towards solving many business challenges. More information on Mr Duke and Business Golf can is available at the Innovative Business Golf Solutions web-site.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogroll, Business, Business Golf, Professional Image

Leave a Reply

