The Business Of Golf on TV

I just got through watching the PGA Tour Championship from my TiVo which record it for me since I was tied up early today.  And I have to say that if it wasn’t for my TiVo I would have turned the channel. 

I have never seen so many commercial on any golf event.  It really makes you appreciate what the Master has done with No Commercials.  But the PGA Tour Championship had commercials every five minutes and there were almost three minutes worth of commercial.  I will leave you to do the math on how many minutes in an hour are commercials.

Now I know, sponsors are what makes the world go around on TV and in golf, well they are counting on those TV sponsors dollars to pay Tiger’s appearance fees.  So, yes there are going to be commercials on golf tournaments.  That is the business of golf on TV.

But what is not the business of golf is my time and I am glad I found out the value of TiVo.  It paid for itself this evening….  I wonder how long it is going to be before the Television networks try to stop TiVo taking it another step and deleting the commercials from TV…I would image the TiVo stock would go out of the roof…I know I would be buying it.

The business of golf on TV needs to find a happy medium on the commercials before they run the avid golfers away from watching golf on TV.

Scot Duke,  President of Innovative Business Golf Solutions, and Host of the Mr Business Golf podcast, provides over 31 years of corporate management experience to helping small businesses improve their marketing strategies. As author of: How To Play Business Golf, Mr. Duke outlines the steps to sucessfully using golf as a business tool.  To learn more about Mr. Duke, IBGS or to purchase How To Play Business Golf visit  http://www.innovativebusinessgolf.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogroll, Business, Business Golf, Golf

Leave a Reply

