MYSPACE: Is It Really?

There does not seem to be a day go by I am not reading somewhere on something about someone getting ripped off, sexually assaulted or murdered from someone they met on MYSPACE.COM.   

You would think that this constant report of violent behavior from social predators harbored in this site would give people a clue of what this site might be all about? 

Since I started my online experience over at MySpace a year ago, I found within two weeks that decadency was the standard over there and I left after being bombarded with stuff I and millions of other people are not interested with.  Stuff like contacts from someone who though a nude picture of themselves was a great calling card or a picture of a person having an autopsy done as a great greeting photo for their profile.

As far as it being a social group site, I would say that the word social is pretty much stretching it a little.   For in a society there has to be coherence to some cause and the cause of this site seems to be ‘what can I get away with now’…kinda the shock jock stuff that real people are really bored with.  And that folks is not social.

And as far as their claim to fame being they having millions of members…well there are many now doubting that can be proved and if there was a way to produce a log of all the members registered the questions still would remain, how many are still there and using the site?

During my short visit I did spend large amounts of hours finding out everything this site offered and who was on the site that was of interest to me and not of interest to me.  What I found was a large, into the thousands, of profiles and personal sites that had not had any content added or updated for, in most cases, two years.  Now, what does that tell me?

Well, that tells me that many people got onto the site, spent a ton of hours building their personal site in hopes of finding some existence and others of compatible interests and then just abandoned the site out of frustration, embarrassment or discuss.  And it looked in many of the sites I reviewed that thousands seemed to found out quickly that the site was full of social deviants that existence is to disrupt the norm in an effort to pursued members to match their abnormal reason for existing…somewhat the human version of SPAM.

So, why does Myspace.com still exist?  Or is a better question, Does MySpace.COM really have the number of members it reports to have?  And then out of that number how many are there for any social reason?

There just are way too many other options for people like me to not have to deal with the socially insulting and very dangerous site, Myspace.com

 

So what does this have to do with what I do?  Well, people in business come to me asking about MySpace and feel they need to be on MySpace to get to the people they are marketing their business to and I have to disagree since MySpace is not a business site or a site that legitimate business people want to be involved with.  So, I write on this for the business people who are feeling the pressure to do what they think their competitors are doing and advertise or get involved with driving traffic from within MySpace out to their very professional web-sites or brick-in-mortar stores.  It just is not going to happen and the negative image a business can get from being associated with this site may not help their business.  So, I am warning businesses and sharing my experiences in hope it helps to provide them information on what they can expect.

 

Scot Duke,  President of Innovative Business Golf Solutions, and Host of the Mr Business Golf podcast, provides over 31 years of corporate management experience to helping small businesses improve their marketing strategies. As author of: How To Play Business Golf, Mr. Duke outlines the steps to sucessfully using golf as a business tool.  To learn more about Mr. Duke, IBGS or to purchase How To Play Business Golf visit  http://www.innovativebusinessgolf.com

 

2 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, Business, Business Golf, Golf

2 responses to “MYSPACE: Is It Really?

  1. Pingback: MySpace by Mr. Business Golf, TalkPlus, Adobe « Technically Speaking

  2. bjaywalter

    I always wondered about myspace. Your opinions confirmed my suspitions. Thanks for saving me the hours of evaluating the site.

Leave a Reply

